Chaela and I are Still Punks, & You Should Visit Charleston, SC Even if You’re Not a Punk as Well.

Standard

I think many people my age had a “punk stage” – many people you wouldn’t expect it from. I am probably one of “wouldn’t expect it” people myself. I’m very blonde and curly headed and bubbly and not at all cool.

Now I definitely wouldn’t classify the band MayDay Parade as “hard core”, more like pop-punk (let’s not get into an argument about punk genres in the comments section, I’ll admit here and now that I don’t really know what I’m talking about..), but MayDay Parade’s A Lesson In Romantics album was pretty much my life from 8-10th grade, the same years I was loading up on the black eye-liner and listening to The Devil Wears Prada and A Day to Remember (okay.. I still do those things…).

All this being said,  recently when Chaela and I heard that MayDay was doing a 10 year anniversary Lesson In Romantics concert tour, we just HAD to go. We went to Charleston’s Music Farm and ROCKED OUT. We weren’t even the oldest people there this time (last time was a We The Kings Concert, and we were definitely the oldest people there…) .We met a cool dad who used to be a police officer but retired and now protects his sweet teenage daughter at concerts for a living, and we met these two 30-something year old chicks who have been to 10 MayDay Parade concerts in the last 8 years. THAT is dedication!

At the concert, MayDay played all of their old songs, and it was fantastic! They were really there for their fans! As always, Chaela and I made it to the very front. How it happens, I don’t know – we never push, just ride the current of the crowd and hold our ground like a boulders! It works every time! I also love how loving the punk community is.. It’s like we were all best friends because we like the same band.. I love that!

But I have to briefly speak about more than just the concert.. I want to remember the rest of the trip too – and writing these blogs is part of how I do that!

You wouldn’t think such a rainy couple of days would be so much fun, but it was! When we drove into downtown Charleston, it was flooded. I mean it.. My poor little Ford Fiesta wasn’t too happy about it – but thankfully I learned the “tail the person in front of you while they part the Red Sea” trick. We dropped our stuff off at our “hostel” (totally not an actual hostel, it was through Air BnB, we had our own room, it was a block away from Music Farm. So. Perfect!) and went to the concert (rocked out!!!). The next day we knew it’d be rainy, so we figured we would play it by ear, and be grateful for a day off together in a fun place no matter the weather!

Here’s the crazy part about this trip: the forecast said rain all day, but it NEVER rained on us! Woke up and walked to Glazed Gourmet Doughnuts (BEST DONUT SHOP EVER!!!), walked back with doughnuts for our hostel mates – didn’t rain. Met some lovely ladies from Chicago over doughnuts at the hostel – might have rained, I wouldn’t know, because we were inside. Went to Folly Beach, laid out and played in the ocean – didn’t rain. Went to this delicious sandwich and soup place we love for lunch (you should try it. It’s called “Ladles”) – might have rained, I wouldn’t know, because we were inside. Went to take photos at this beautiful marshy park place in Mt. Pleasant (see photo) – didn’t rain. Noticed that part of my undercarriage was broken and hanging down onto the ground – didn’t rain. Met my friend Justin for coffee. Met Chaela’s friends Matthew, RJ, and Sam for pizza in North Charleston (that pizza place won’t get my vouch, sorry). Walked around downtown North Charleston – didn’t rain. Watched as Chaela’s sweet friend RJ fixed my broken car – didn’t rain (Thanks RJ! I’m sure you won’t remember me, but you will forever be in my memory due to your kindness helping a stranger!!!).

We had such a great time. Chaela and I talked about it, and we think part of why it was such a wonderful time was that we didn’t have many expectations. We just enjoyed our time, communicated with each other (i.e. “I’m hungry”, “I have to pee”, “I’d like to see my friends today if we have time”, “can we get coffee?”, “I’d love to take some pictures at this place”). So that’s what I recommend – go live life, have fun, be grateful, communicate, meet strangers, be calm, ask for help, stay a punk, use Air BnB, and accept what is given to you. I’m so grateful I was given this beautiful trip to Charleston with my friend!

Last thing! Just remembered: so Chaela and I were driving home that night – it was raining a bit on the drive. We get to Aiken around midnight – it starts pouring down. We had to pull over at a gas station it was so bad.

We’re at the gas station, it’s still raining hard and we give up on waiting for it to clear up. We get to Chaela’s house – it stops raining. We carry all her stuff inside without it raining on us.

Isn’t that crazy!!?!?!

 

 

 

What say you?

