1st Week Thoughts: Confused Counselor Eating Way Too Much Cheesecake

Standard

I am sitting in Katelyn’s temporary Clemson living room watching Trolls and eating blueberry cheesecake from Walmart. Autumn’s and my stinky camp laundry are twirling in the washing machine. The first week of camp just ended – we left around 5 pm today; our new campers come in at 2 pm tomorrow.

The idea that another cabin of beautiful ladies exists is beyond me… How can there be anyone else out there but my girls? I’m going to miss them so much. They have taught me so much about bravery, joy, contentedness… and patience.

But there are more campers, and I must love them just as much, and I must not let myself get burnt out and exhausted, and I must give it my all. I will pretend to be brave even when I’m not. I will sing camp songs at the top of my lungs, start camp fires in the rain, and fake it until I make it.

Honestly, it really doesn’t require much faking. I love my campers – and I love to have a smile on my face and participate as much as I can, because it helps them have one of their best weeks of the year.

But can I be honest? I’m so tired. And this is one of the hardest things I have ever done (and most rewarding… but still ). I’m not used to others being so dependent on me in every way, 24/7. And I’m not used to having such little time to myself or for adult conversation.

I’m so grateful for this 21 hours to recoup. And I’m so grateful that Katelyn is in town and offered her laundry machine, living room and kitchen for the evening. I wasn’t too excited for the prospect of spending my evening in a laundromat alone… But I certainly am excited to be with good friends, eating food I cooked, and taking a moment to talk and reflect. A night like this will certainly help me be ready to love my campers hard-core this week.

I’m thankful for this opportunity.

LIVE BRIGHT, LOVE BETTER,

Ruthie

(Wow… Trolls is a weird movie…)

What say you?

