I Gots It Easy.

Standard

Sometimes I feel like the world is out to get me.

My tire rim gets busted in a pot hole. I get stuck for 20 minutes at a railroad crossing. I can’t get the door open to the house I’m supposed to housesit for.

But then sweet mechanics hammer out my bent rim free of charge. But then I eventually make it home. But then the landlord (with a cute son *cough*) helps me inside, and I find myself welcomed by sweet cuddly kitty cats and black bean brownies.

It’s these times that I remember that difficult things and set-backs are part of life. And even if someone is out to get me, He who is within me is greater than he who is in the world (e.g. God > Satan).

But where is the rejoicing in my sufferings? Where is the trusting God and joy even when the mechanic doesn’t hook me up, when the Sun never comes out from behind the clouds, when I’m persecuted and spit upon and tortured because of the Lord and savior I love?

I don’t know that the joy would be there. Not in of myself anyways, and it never could be in of myself. If I’m not praying for and seeking joy and patience right now when I get stuck behind a choo choo train or have to roll a bunch of silverwear… well… How can I expect to be joyful and patient and hopeful in the things that are actually difficult in life?

God really is so good. And I really do have so much to be thankful for- most of all that I am his child and he is making me new. New in the sort of way that dances wildly with rejoicing when all seems to be going wrong in her own life, but who mourns with the sorrows of others.

” Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance;  perseverance, character; and character, hope.  And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.” _ Romans 5:3-5

8 thoughts on “I Gots It Easy.

  1. My mother had a very hard life – which we kids were unaware of because she did so much not to dwell on the bad stuff. I remember many times when she would comment that things were not good, but “at least ….” and she would refer to some news story of people suffering somewhere in the world from wars, floods or hurricanes. Somehow her positive attitude got her through, and I’ve tried to keep that in mind when going through my own struggles over the years. Things can almost always be worse than they are now. Everyone has days they feel the whole world is against them, but it passes.

    Liked by 1 person

What say you?

