Love Biscuits

Standard

*This post written by Abbie*

So, my boyfriend Cody came and visited me last weekend. This is a big deal as we haven’t seen each other for a few weeks and really missed each other. It was Sunday morning, and we had planned on hanging out all day together before we separated ways (I had to work a wedding all day on Saturday). I thought, “How can I be an awesome girlfriend this morning? I know, I will make him some biscuits!” (Cooking is a big deal for me…)

I looked through my supplies: Bisquick (LOL you thought I was making this from scratch?!), milk? Hmmm. I have almond milk…good enough!, biscuit cutter? I found one in the shape of a heart (bonus points!!!!!), recipe? Let’s see what good ‘ole Betty (Crocker) has to say about making biscuits!

Well naturally Betty wanted me to use a lot of butter. She said she wanted me to chunk up a stick of butter and lightly toss it with a fork in bisquick… I don’t know, I was really confused. I ended up just trying to squish up the butter because I wasn’t trying to fry butter or anything! I then added some almond milk, mixed it some, then dumped it on a wax sheet and smushed it all down. I was using the heart cutter and putting them on the sheet when Cody knocked on the door. I told him I wasn’t opening the door yet (I didn’t want to ruin the surprise!!) I quickly finished up and threw them in the oven and hid the evidence (kind of).

I had set a timer on my iPhone for 9 minutes (as suggested) and opened the door. He was curious about the surprise awaiting him. After a few minutes of talking, I wanted to check on the ‘big surprise’ with a minute or two before they were supposed to be done.

OH NO!! They look like they are burning! I quickly open the oven to pull them out; I didn’t have a mitt to take them out so I was attempting to pull them out with a hand towel, but I had quickly shoved them in the back earlier. In my rush, I burned myself and said the kind version of bad words. Then as that happened the fire alarm went off!! As I was yelling trying to open the door to air out the room, my stupid Twinkle alarm on my phone went off….

Well. After yelling random things and bickering I finally got the biscuits out of the oven. They were more like bricks than biscuits, but I still didn’t want to give up on my efforts. I put some on a plate for Cody with some butter and jelly. Cody, being the sweet person he is, said they didn’t look too bad. Then I turned them around…. And he died laughing. He appreciated the gesture…

img_3489

Well friends, the morale of the story is that substitutions don’t work very well. Even Bisquick biscuits are hard…but it’s the thought that counts!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Love Biscuits

What say you?

