Ruth’s Banana Bread

Standard

There are only two cookbooks in my mother’s house, and it has been this way since the day I was born. Usually we are people of great improvisation when it comes to meal making; however, my mom does keep a collection of her very favorite/classic recipes, and we have the cookbook made in memory of my Great Grandma and Grandpa Jones.

I never met Grandma and Grandpa Jones, but I feel like I get to know them a little bit when I read and look at this blue-binded book that all my mom’s family members have a copy of. The first half is filled with photos and memoirs of them written by my Grandpa, my Uncle Todd, my Great Uncle Kenny and the like (about Grandma Jones’ delicious cooking and servant heart, Grandpa Jones’ nicknames for everyone, the both of their hard work, humbleness, humanness. These memoirs always make me cry, because I think of how these qualities were passed down to their children, and their childrens’ children, and if I’m fortunate enough their childrens’ childrens’ children. I digress..) . The second half is filled with recipes that my Great Grandma Jones collected. I love this, because they are not a collection of recipes from Pinterest or Google or wherever I usually make recipes from. No, these recipes are living legends of my Great Grandma Jones’ friends: Laveda’s Chocolate Pan Cake,  Rosalee’s Candy, Charlotte’s Tiny Frozen Pizzas, Maud’s Puffed Raisin Cookies. It amazes me how Great Grandma Jones, a stay at home mom of 5 boys married at the age of 19, managed to have so many friends close enough to share recipes with. It amazes me that I, her great grand-daughter, am now making the recipes of her friends- like maybe my great grandkids will make “Autumn’s Tiramisu Cheesecake”.

Tonight I made Lucille’s Zucchini Bread; except I was fresh out of Zucchini, so I substituted bananas. And I wanted to make it healthy.. so I didn’t put oil or sugar and instead put in peach yogurt and cottage cheese.

Basically, I changed up the whole recipe; but I was thinking of my Great Grandma Jones and her friend Lucille, and that’s what counts right? No harm in putting a little Ruthie recipe modification into play.

Lucille’s Zucchini Bread

3 eggs

3/4 cups oil

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 cup raw shredded zucchini (peeled)

1 tsp vanilla

3 cup flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp soda

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup nuts

1 cup raisins

——

Ruth’s Banana Bread

3 eggs

A container of your Dad’s nasty sugary yogurt, lowfat (peach, blueberry, whatevs. It doesn’t even have to be your Dad’s)

1/2 cup cottage cheese (trust me. I know it’s weird, but trust me.)

As many almost rotten bananas as you need to get rid of, smashed with fork

a lot of vanilla

3 cup flour (we have no whole wheat here at my parents’, but you could make it healthier that way)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp soda

a lot of cinnamon

1 tsp baking powder

2 handfuls walnuts

a lot of blueberries (about a cup)

a sprinkling of sweetened shredded coconut on top

For Both: bake in greased loaf pans for 45 min at 325 degrees

 

 

I hope to try actually making Lucille’s Zucchini Bread soon. I’ll have to acquire some zucchinis. The banana bread is good, especially if you like desserts that aren’t too sweet.

HAPPPPY BAKING!!

We tend to spend so much time in our own worlds and it is rare if we manage to really get to know others with any depth.” – Great Uncle Ronnie. He wrote it a long time ago in this memoir for his Mom and Dad. It has made me think, and perhaps it will you too.

One thought on “Ruth’s Banana Bread

What say you?

