The Post-grad Year

Standard

Somehow I graduated college a month ago. How four years passed so quickly, I will never know.

I’ll never forget my friend Chris describing his first post-grad year to me a couple of years back:

“I just felt lost, confused, and out of place. I didn’t feel quite like an adult yet, but I didn’t feel like a kid either.”

And I can relate to this already. I have a tendency these days to feel like a mooch, unaccomplished, and confused; because I’ve chosen to live with my parents this year.

… because I’m waiting tables and completing a Dietetic Internship instead of getting a big girl job.

… because my friends will all be hours away, and I’ll be starting all new things in the place I called home for seventeen years.

But this is a transition year for me. A chance to love on and get to know my parents better. An opportunity to make friends. A time to be an active member of a local church group I love. A year to learn more about the dietetics profession I love.

It’s a year to be a welcome visitor to the up-state.. to do my friends’ dishes.. to share cherished time with them.

How you experience life depends so much on your outlook and your attitude. So though my feelings may lean towards confusion and sadness some of these days, I know that God is good and in control.

And I feel mostly joy and peace and excitement.


“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6

 

What say you?

