So I Think I’m a Body Builder Now.

Standard

I made a protein shake tonight with real protein powder and everything. That makes me a body builder right? I mean it was pea protein which isn’t super complete, but I’m going to count it as body building material…

I knew I needed protein tonight with my dinner, but it’s been a long hard semester y’all, and I haven’t been to the grocery store in 2 weeks; so, now the only protein(ey) foods I have at the house are eggs, protein bars, and protein powder. I don’t even have any cheese! (so sad). As I had already had a protein bar for my mid-morning snack and two eggs for lunch, the protein powder was my only option for dinner. So I did one of those shakes all the cool kids do…

Should I provide y’all with my recipe? I mean.. I don’t know- it certainly didn’t taste that great, but it wasn’t awful. I don’t have much experience with protein shakes, if they’re usually awful and mine wasn’t, then perhaps you (oh great internet) would benefit from hearing my recipe. Bear in mind, it is full of sugar.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 scoops of pea protein powder (but if you have whey isolate or casein or soy or basically anything else it will be more complete and likely better absorbed!)
  • 1/3 packet of dark chocolate hot cocoa
  • 1/4 cup light low-fat vanilla yogurt borrowed from your roommate’s shelf
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 small banana
  • 5-7 ice cubes

Directions: Blend all that tasty stuff together, using a good blender, because goodness knows that no-one likes to eat protein powder chunks.

 

—-

Sorry I took no pictures; it was just so good that I drank it up in a matter of seconds!

Make sure to get a good serving or three of veggies along with this shake, guys- lots of bright colors. Keep pumpin’ the iron, and stay strong!

If you have advice for how to make my shakes tastier, let me know. I still have that protein powder on my shelf…

 

 

 

 

 

What say you?

