I’ve Got Confidence In Sunshine and My Ability To Wait Tables

Standard

Something amazing happened tonight, my 7th night working as a waitress..  I got hungry.

The past 6 nights I was so nervous at my new job that I felt queasy everyday and didn’t have much of an appetite.

I always get like that when I do something new.

But tonight it all changed… I was ravenous! I was just oh, so hungry! Any mistakes we made at the restaurant, I ate. That zucchini we didn’t need? In my belly. Those tortilla chips from who knows where? om nom nom.

Unfortunately, when I got home there wasn’t much food for me to continue to stuff my face with. You see, I haven’t been to the grocery store in a week. I had to stick with spaghetti noodles and ice cream for my dinner, as unhealthy as that sounds. I must say this nutrition student now feels like a hypocrite, but at least I’m admitting it to you right?… Friday I’ll totes hit up the grocery store.

All that said, I think my settled stomach is a sign I’m settling into my job as a server. And if any of you have tips, I would love to hear them, be it tips from when you’ve been a server yourself, or just something you really enjoy servers to do! I want to take the best care of my guests as possible, and y’all can help me!

My friend, Abbie, read something the other day that said servers who lightly touched their guests on the shoulder received better tips, but I have a feeling that might be a European thing. I can’t bring myself to test it out on someone… The thought makes me feel creepy.

But hey! Maybe one day I’ll give it a whirl and let y’all know how it goes..

What say you?

