Bittersweet Symphony

Standard

I was jamming out to this song on the drive home tonight, and man did I relate to it! (Don’t worry. I wasn’t watching this very interesting video whilst driving, just listening to the song.)

“Cause it’s a bitter sweet symphony,  this life; try to make ends meet;  you’re a slave to money then you die.” -The Verve

That has been so me this past week. I’ve been freaking out about when I’ll work, what I’ll do, how much I’ll make- yada yada yada. I’m prone to forget the gratefulness I should have for having a job in the first place, for each job I’ve been blessed with!

I feel the need not only to save up money and put groceries on the table but to please everybody; I want to make my parents proud; I want to make my peers think I’m astounding; I want to have as much experience as possible for the future.

Try try try.Do all I can. Be as busy as possible. Make as much money as possible. Be as successful as possible.

I’m so afraid of other people disapproving of my decisions.. of them thinking I’m stupid. Guys, I’ve made an idol of my pride. I’ve been living for my own advancement and not for the Lord’s. That’s no way for me to live. Self-centeredness  does NOT lead to happiness, no matter how much the world tells us to follow our hearts and believe in ourselves.

We were made to glorify God and serve others.

No matter what happens in life I am to praise God for who he is and what he’s done, and trust him to provide what I need (as he always has.). He’s where true contentment is found.

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6

I’m excited to live life as he’s called me: loving God and loving others, letting his Word transform me 🙂

Life can definitely bittersweet and hard. Whatever ya’ll are going through I pray God grants you peace and security.

What say you?

