You gotta do what you gotta do

Standard

Very rarely do sacrifice sleep in the name of doing something spontaneous and fun.

But the other night, I had to do it.

It had been a long time since I’d seen Chaela and Autumn, and I needed a some friend time! So at 9:00 on Wednesday night, I drove down to Anderson to see them.

We had a really fun time! Autumn and I watched Chaela work at the coffee shop and talked to the Anderson University kids until about 11:30. Then we went to Chaela’s dorm, drank coffee, and watched some silly TV show.

I got back to the apartment at 2am, happy as a clam.

“Hmmm… I have to wake up in 4 hours to go teach Pilates…” I thought.  “But I’ll be okay, I’ll take a nap after.”

The next morning, after I taught my Pilates class in a very sleepy state, I headed to the library to take a nap before lab.

Oh yes, a 45-minute nap in the big cushy chairs at the library was just what I needed. I took of my glasses, set my alarm, curled up in a ball, and proceeded to close my eyes.

I felt so good, so happy, so unashamed to be napping in a public place. I let out a little sigh and happily wiggled my toes.

But wait…

Why did my toes feel so free and happy?.. I was wearing flip flops. I had packed no closedtoed shoes.. I had lab in 45 minutes.

Poop.

I got up, put on my glasses, and texted a lot of people who own shoes. I wasn’t really expecting too much of a response. After all, it was 8:30am, and I had texted college students.

“Hmmm…” thought I. “Could I walk to my car, drive home to get shoes, then drive back??”. But I probably wouldn’t have time; campus parking gets crowded around 9.

Do I have any shoes in my car??” thought I. And I did. I had one pair of closed toes shoes- a pair of fuzzy ankle boots with heels.

I decided it was time I started walking to my car. I imagined myself walking into anatomy lab wearing a workout shirt, leggings, and those funky boots. I knew I’d be embarassed, but you know what? It’d be worth it. I needed to go to lab, and there’s no point in being so self-conscience.

Halfway to my car, I got a text from Abbie saying I could walk to her apartment and borrow some shoes.

I was so thankful.

For all my self-pep-talk about how it’d be okay to wear those shoes, I would’ve felt really weird about it.

Abbie let me borrow some really great and comfy Nike tennis shoes. I had a fun time at lab looking at kidneys and stuff! And I felt like a completely normal person doing so, unlike how I would’ve felt wearing those strange shoes.

Moral of my weird rambling story?

Uhhh.. Yeah.

Abbie is a great friend. Always keep closed toed shoes in your car. No matter how many years you have lab, for some reason you will always forget the dresscode. Sometimes you can have a perfectly great day on 4 hours of sleep.

One thought on “You gotta do what you gotta do

What say you?

