Addicted.

Standard

I knew what I was doing when I let myself become addicted.

I knew it was a bad idea to accept coffee from others on most days, to make it for my own self on the days it wasn’t offered to me.

I knew my own dislike of being dependent on a substance, a slave to its desires.

I knew I would regret it, but still I drank coffee every day this semester, and am now terribly addicted.

But it has gone too far! I hate thatΒ not having coffee inhibits me! What about those days when coffee isn’t available to me? I go and spend excess money on something far from a necessity. When I go home for the weekend where my parents don’t have a coffee maker? I get an awful headache and am not as present and aware in my circumstances. I can’t enjoy people’s company as well.

Nope, this addictions gotta go!

Some say I’m crazy for starting my “caffeine detox” the week before exams. They may be right, but I think it’s time! So wish me luck as I battle through the headaches and the temptations πŸ™‚

Huge respect to all those who have overcome addictions far greater than my little caffeine one. That’s a huge mountain to cross!

Image

For the next few weeks, the drink in that cup will be herbal (caffeine free) teas!

19 thoughts on “Addicted.

  1. Good luck!
    I’m trying to cut it out too but not doing very well:( I only have one cup a day but it has become so important to me!
    But it’s time….
    Wish me luck!

    Like

    • Good luck to you!! It is so addicting… It’s easy to forget that whilst getting addicted haha

      You can do it though! I’m one week in and I’m feeling a lot better! The first three days are the worst- and I had so many cravings for sweets! Naps help πŸ™‚ Tell me how you do!

      Like

What say you?

