My Talent: Loving Others

Standard

You know, I’m pretty good at loving people.

I think people are pretty great. They’re pretty funny and entertaining. People are pretty sweet and tender and tend to warm my heart. Everyone is  beautiful in their own way! And I love that! It get’s me all tingly inside… Oh yes, people make me smile. People make me happy… Without others I would live a very sad and lonely existence. I love people.

But wait… Love isn’t just a feeling- it’s something you do. It’s something you show.

Love motivates action.

For great is your love toward me; You have delivered me from the depths of the grave” Psalm 86:13

“Since you are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you, I will give men in exchange for you and people in exchange for your life.”  Isaiah 43:4

Greater love has no one than this; to lay down one’s life for one’s friends” John 15:13

“Having loved his own who were in the world, he [Jesus] now showed them the full extent of his love.” John 13:1b

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us” Romans 5:8

“You, my brothers, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature; rather, serve one another in love. The entire law is summed up in a single command; ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ If you keep biting and devouring each other, watch out or you will be destroyed  by each other.” Galations 5:13-15

And the Bible is saturated with many many more examples of this… And I know some of ya’ll reading this don’t give a poop about what the Bible says, but for me it is foundational. It is the truth. It changes how I live, and how I think. I beleive it and I experience it. This being said, it makes sense that it is at the core of my contemplations, and comes out in my blog a lot 🙂

As a follower of Christ I am to love others the way Jesus loves.

Jesus suffered and died for people that hated him.

“Love your neighbor as yourself” suddenly takes on a new meaning.

Love isn’t just general appreciation for people. It isn’t feeling all mushy about somebody. Love is patient, kind, and not self-seeking. Love is serving others. Love is giving of myself for the sake of others. Love is speaking the truth to other’s even when it might make me seem “uncool”.

This seems pretty hard to me.

Maybe I’m not so good at loving people after all.

This sort of love I have to rely on Christ daily for. This sort of love does not come natural to me. It seems like it’d be pretty nice to just continue to live in this “people are pretty cool” attitude, keep living to satisfy my own desires, and allow everyone else to do likewise. But God says to love others as ourselves, and to give of ourselves to serve others. Though this may be counter-intuitive, I truly beleive this is rewarding and satisfying.

So if you’ll excuse me I’m going to eat a grapefruit and ponder what thism ight look like in my life… Or maybe I’ll start by doing the dishes!

What say you?

