Onions & Meatloaf

Standard

Somehow I feel like people aren’t going to want to read this one. Onions and meatloaf? Umm.. ew.

But guys… Onions and meatloaf are both so good!! Really, they are!

Growing up I never really ate meatloaf. Evidently my dad was served it nearly everyday in his childhood, so he really wants to avoid it in his adult life. I guess that’s why my mom didn’t make it very often. And of course all those kids tv shows featuring “meatloaf surprise” as the nasty cafeteria food weren’t exactly an encourager in giving me nice view of meatloaf (gee thanks, Arthur). But one day when I was around ten, my mommy decided to make meatloaf despite my dad’s preferences. And from that day, I have really liked meatloaf! Meat, veggies, and grains all in one!

This week Katelyn and I made a yummy Italian style turkey-veggie meatloaf! Here is how we did it:

Ingredients:

1-1.25 lbs lean ground turkey (‘fraid this one’s not vegan-friendly folks)

1 cup of bread crumbs (we used some leftover hamburger buns of Katelyns)

1 egg

1 small onion, or 1/2 large onion. Diced.

1 1/2 cups of spinach, chopped up a bit

1/2 cup of diced bell peppers (any color of the rainbow!… except blue. That’d be weird.)

1 Tbsn. olive oil

1/2 tspn dried basil (or some fresh leaves if you have it! Yum!)

1/2 tspn italian seasoning

1tspn black pepper

1/2 tspn garlic salt (or use regular salt and a clove of crushed garlic if you have it.. also yum!)

1 cup tomato sauce (We used garlic flavored, tomato basil would be good too!)

First things first. Chop up those veggies. I’m in a cooking class this semester, and I learned a way to dice an onion that has revolutionized my onion chopping experience.. So I feel like I need to share it! Here’s chef Gordan Ramsay giving some onion dicing instructions:

Here is me dicing my onion with a much less cool knife than his:

photo 1 (2)

Like my apron?

Once you’ve chopped that onion, go on and brown them in a hot pan with 1 Tbsn. olive oil and your diced bell pepper. Once you notice your onions turning clear and browning slightly, go ahead and add your spinach to the mix.

Now would be a good time to preheat that oven to 400 degrees!

In a bowl, mix your ground turkey, egg, spices, and bread crumbs. Add your veggie mixture once the spinach starts to get slightly wilty. Mix until everything is distributed, but not anymore than you have too! Don’t want that meat to get… pasty. (haha sorry that sounds so gross)..

Transfer your mixture into a loaf pan. Bake it at 400 for 40 minutes. Then remove and spread 1 cup of tomato sauce on top. Put it back in the oven for 10-15 minutes (smells real nice am I right?).. Remove your final product!

Serves 5!

Should look something like this:

photo 1 (3)

Forgive me for not wiping my plate. Dear Gordan Ramsay would be ashamed

And when you eat it, you may look something like this:

photo 5 (4)

I hope you give meatloaf a try and that you enjoy it! Next time, I think I’d like to try doing half bread crumbs and half oatmeal!

Happy onion dicing to you all!

4 thoughts on “Onions & Meatloaf

  1. I have to tell you, I was happy to watch a Gordon Ramsey Video without any swearing (ughhh he usually drives me nuts and I avoid at all costs)

    I knew I had been cutting onions wrong all these years (35 now… lol)

    This looks delicious and I will definitely give it a try – BUT I will be needing to find an alternative to Breadcrumbs, as my daughter has a gluten allergy!

    I’ll let you know how I go!

    ML
    x

    Like

    • It is so rare isn’t it? I think he does it on purpose to build a “tough guy” reputation!

      Yes, this way of cutting onions makes it so much quicker and easier!! Barely any time for them to make you cry!

      I’m really excited to hear how it goes! I’m interested to see what alternative you’ll use! I need to learn more about gluten-free alternatives as I am studying to be a nutritionist and many people are gluten-intolerant!

      Thanks for commenting Miss Lou :))

      Ruthie

      Like

What say you?

