Are you a creamy person, or a crunchy one?

Standard

This morning did not start out very well. Because I drank coffee yesterday evening, I couldn’t sleep and I got up earlier than I was intending. I made my usual breakfast of oatmeal, added raisins and cinnamin, then went to grab the peanut butter I bought yesterday. Upon opening up the peanut butter jar, I realized something terribly awful: I purchased creamy, instead of super extra crunchy. Awful. Since I didn’t feel like driving to Walmart to exchange peanut butters was worth the struggle, I figured I would just have to suffer through  eating this 40 oz jar of creamy peanut butter. With a sigh, I scooped a small spoonful of it into my mouth. And it was good. Very good. I happily stirred another spoonful into my oatmeal (I highly recommend this by the way. D-Lish!)

This peanut butter ordeal caused many thoughts to run through my head. “Ruth, You need to try more things.”, “hmm I guess you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover.. don’t hate or discriminate.”, “Sometimes you think you know what’s best for you and then BOOM you realize there was something else super amazing out there..”,  and “Now I won’t get nuts in my teeth!”

All this thought provocation, just from a jar of creamy peanut butter! And you know what? My outlook on the day was better… This whole day didn’t go exactly as I thought it would or how I planned it (do they ever?), but it was still a blessing and enjoyable. I got some homework done. I took a nap (!!!). I went to the Clemson game,  and had some time to sit, drink tea and write a blog post afterwards. I got to hang out with people I haven’t seen in a while. I learned that Hosanna’s love language is also physical touch, and I got to snuggle! Now that is certainly a day I could  not have foreseen this morning, just as I couldn’t foresee that I would like creamy peanut butter just as much as I like crunchy. But hoorah for surprises and new experiences. Man, sometimes you think you know yourself…

What say you?

